Breaking the Mental Barrier

My Krav Maga instructor training can be summarized in one sentence.

100 push-ups.

When our instructor gave the command, the little
voice in the back of my head, the one that warned me to work on my push-ups in the weeks leading up to my instructor training, snickered. “Told you so”.  And I was hit with a sudden fear that I would be unable to finish. That I would fail. That I was weak.

I tried anyways. And I took a lot of breaks. But I finished. And I continued to do it every day for the next 9 days of the course. And I continue to

instructor
The General Instructor Course (GIC) for KMG is a total of 21 days

do it now.

I felt slightly abashed when my reaction when hearing the number of push-ups was to doubt myself. It’s a bad habit of mine, even with activities I’ve worked hard to become good at. I know I’m not the only one. Maybe it’s hard wired into the human brain. Or, the more positive explanation, maybe the nerves show we care.

These feelings come up a lot. Before a race. Before a grading test. Before instructing. And in the years I’ve been active, nothing catastrophic has happened. The world still spins. I have had bad days and races and experiences. But even at my lowest, life went on.

I’ve tried to learn from these experiences. Self doubt has done nothing to help me. Imagining continuing spiraling scenarios of defeat and failure have only hindered my performances. Thinking “I can’t” never aided me positively during anything in my life.

I still feel nervous. I still question my training at times, or wonder about my performances or abilities. But now I focus on work I’ve done, or at the very least repeat to myself nothing bad will happen if something does go wrong. In the end, all we can do is our best. So why not quiet the voice of doubt and try to have a good time along the way?

This is Non-Stop Ariel. Because you only fail when you stop trying.

Leave a comment